Friday, August 17, 2007

Spring Heel Jack - The Sweetness Of The Water [2004]

01. Track Four
02. Quintet
03. Lata
04. Duo
05. Track One
06. Inlet
07. Track Two
08. Autumn

The British duo of John Coxon and Ashley Wales have come a long way since their drum-and-bass beginnings in the mid-1990s. Back then Spring Heel Jack was an electronic-oriented project that put a new slant on the IDM sounds of the day. Around the time they signed to Thirsty Ear at the century's turn, they began expanding their sound in an infinite number of directions, ultimately becoming a largely acoustic-oriented, avant-garde free-jazz/modern-improv project. The version of the band that inhabits THE SWEETNESS OF THE WATER ventures even further in the aforementioned experimental direction. (Kwote:

No comments: